Crozant, a town perched on a promontory overlooking the Creuse and Sédelle rivers, owes its fame to its exceptional landscaped and historical site, but also to its School of Painters.
The school of the painters of Crozant
Georges Sand was the first to discover the site of Crozant, its charm, its valley, its so picturesque landscapes... Enchanted, it attracted a great number of Parisian artists who left their studios to come and paint the lights and colors so particular of the place, the rivers and the old fortress dominating the confluence.
Frédéric Chopin followed her on her excursions to Creuse, Maurice Rollinat, fleeing Parisian life, returned to his land and Claude Monet multiplied his stays "in order to capture on his canvases the changes in nature with the light and the capricious weather.
As for Arman Guillaumin, he was the best representative of the School of Crozant by painting this site for more than 30 years.
The Valley of the Painters today
The Eguzon dam, built in 1926, disfigured, to the taste of Armand Guillaumin, the wild landscape of the Valley of the Painters of Creuse. A great number of artists who stayed in Crozant, Fresselines, passing by La Celle-Dunoise and Anzême left for other horizons.
In spite of this, the site is still today an important place for all painters of different pictorial techniques. The works of Claude Monet, Armand Guillaumin, Picabia, Madeline and many others have immortalized with their brushstrokes the ruins of the fortress of Crozant, the Rocher de la Fileuse, the Moulin de la Folie, the Vieil arbre.
Thus, the Valley of the Painters still goes around the world through many exhibitions.
The Hotel Lépinat allows you to learn more about the history of the painters of the Valley thanks to new technologies.
Tourist Office of the Valley of the Painters
81 Grande Street
23800 Dun Le Palestel
Tel: 05 55 89 24 61
5, rue Armand Guillaumin
Phone : 05 55 63 01 90
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator