The Museum of the Bishop's Palace

The Musée du Palais des Evêques de Saint-Lizier reopened its doors to the public in April 2011, after several years of work and restructuring.
The collections presented in a superb setting invite the visitor to discover the history of the Bishops' Palace, the Gallo-Roman city of Saint-Lizier and the Couserans through the vestiges of its past, from Antiquity to the present day.
Beautiful objects (monetary treasures, amphoras, vases, votive altars, funerary steles, sarcophagi, Merovingian plaques, capitals, religious art objects, objects of daily life...) rub shoulders with a refined and modern museography where the visitor is invited to touch (tactile room), to listen (story room) and to contemplate (landscape room).
In addition to the visit of the museum, the discovery of the Notre-Dame-de-la-Sède cathedral, freshly restored, in which a superb set of paintings from the beginning of the 16th century has been uncovered under a coating.
And also the temporary exhibition room, which hosts thematic, historical or artistic exhibitions related to the site and the museum's collections.
The Museum also has the advantage of being in a beautiful medieval city with a rich architectural heritage.


Museum of the Palace of the Bishops
route de Montjoie
09190 Saint-Lizier 

Tel: 05 61 04 81 86


Translated with

(free version)


Also to be seen in the department

Montreur d'Ours

placeErcé - Ariège 
label People from here  

Au Mas-d'Azil, en voiture vers la Préhistoire

placeLe Mas-d'Azil - Ariège 
label Amazing... isn't it?  
La Chapelle du Pla-Rouzaud

La Vierge apparait en 1686

placeCelles – Ariège 
label Saints, healers and other miracles... Religious, mystical & pagan cults  

Les Cascades pétrifiantes de Roquefort-les-Cascades

placeRoquefort-les-Cascades - Ariège 
label Natural curiosities  

Discover the regions of the Great South