This 14th century Romanesque chapel is dedicated to Saint Peter, patron saint of fishermen.
At the beginning, it was a place of worship, but later it was used as a storehouse for fishing equipment, especially nets. It also houses the prud'homie of the fishermen.
In 1957, after many stays at the Welcome Hotel, Jean Cocteau, writer, film-maker and painter decided, with the fishermen's agreement, to redecorate the chapel, both inside and out, as a sign of friendship.
Today, one can discover passages from the life of Saint Peter, the candlesticks of the apocalypse, baked in the ovens of Valbonne, local scenes, tributes to the Saintes-Maries de la Mer and the Demoiselles de Villefranche-sur-Mer.
Charlie Chaplin visited the chapel with Jean Cocteau on July 18, 1957. It was inaugurated with a mass on June 30, 1957 and still belongs to the fishermen's association of Villefranche.
This chapel has been classified as a historical monument since December 27, 1996 and received the label "Heritage of the 20th century" on March 1, 2001.
The chapel can be visited.
1, quai Courbet
Tel: 04 93 76 90 70
Click on the image