Located in the heart of the medieval enclosure, the André Mazeyrie Cloister Museum occupies the remains of the Benedictine monastery of Saint-Martin de Tulle, classified as a Historical Monument.
Adjacent to the Cathedral, its 13th century Gothic cloister is remarkable for the purity of its arcades and its chapter house with 14th century wall paintings.
Protected as a Historic Monument in 1840 and 1862, today the entire site, cathedral and cloister, is the property of the State.
The galleries of the cloister offer a mixture of Gothic elements from the 13th century and restitutions, due to the reconstruction campaigns that this building underwent from the end of the 19th century. In 1928, for example, the west gallery, which was intended to house the museum, was rebuilt.
The last renovation campaign, carried out by the State in 2010 and 2011, enabled the renovation and enhancement of the East Gallery.
At the end of this gallery, the Chapter House retains an exceptional wall decoration, two 14th century paintings depicting the Last Supper and the Entry of Christ into Jerusalem.
Sheltered in the West Gallery, the museum has, since its creation by the Société des Lettres, Sciences et Arts de la Corrèze, gathered varied collections, a mirror of the life, discoveries and history of Lower Limousin.
It notably gathers an important collection of religious art related to the history of Tulle, which was an abbey town and then an episcopal city. Pieces of needlepoint lace from Tulle allow you to discover this traditional know-how.
Collections of paintings, drawings and watercolors evoke the life and customs of the men on this territory.
Since 2009, the museum has been engaged in a work of inventorying and compiling its collections. The presentation of the works in the museum's galleries will evolve according to this work.
Place Monseigneur Bertaud,
Tel: 05 55 26 91 05 - 05 55 20 28 28 -
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator