Built in the purple Périgord region, the castle of Lanquais, nicknamed "the unfinished Louvre of Perigord" can be visited.
The castle of Lanquais dates back to the 15th and 16th centuries and was classified as a historical monument in 1942 and 2010.
A bit of History...
The construction of the castle was spread over very different periods, which explains the juxtaposition of a 15th century main building, offering all the defense possibilities of a fortified castle, and an Italian-style Renaissance palace.
From the courtyard you can see the difference between the two parts of the castle :
- on the right, a medieval castle built in the 15th and 16th centuries, up to the stair tower,
- on the left, a Renaissance castle built from the reign of Charles IX and completed in 1604. The building is reminiscent of the Lescot Wing in the Louvre.
There have been at least three castles in Lanquais built on a prehistoric settlement site.
The first castle would date from the 8th century, probably on the site of the Gallo-Roman pagus.
From the 10th to the 12th century, the place became a residence of the bishop of Périgueux and has only one keep.
In the 13th century, the castle belonged to the de Mons family who had a fortress built in 1320.
Around 1460, Jean de la Cropte, who had just joined the King of France after having sided with the King of England, received the title of Governor of the Place de Beaumont.
He obtained in 1457 the exemption of royal aid for his lands. He had the octagonal tower built on the foundations of the old dungeon that had been burned by the English.
November 21, 1531, Marguerite de la Cropte, the last heiress of the family, married Gilles de La Tour.
This family is linked to the Medici and to the French monarchy following the marriage of Madeleine de La Tour d'Auvergne with Laurent II de Medici in 1513 from whom Catherine de Medici was born and married Henri II, King of France, in 1533.
Between 1561 and 1574, Galliot de La Tour undertakes the construction of the Renaissance castle and will use the master builders of the royal residences to build in a country, won by the ideas of the Protestant Reformation, a castle showing the royal and catholic power.
In 1577 Henri de La Tour d'Auvergne, cousin of Galliot de La Tour, but Protestant and attached to the interests of the king of Navarre, the future Henri IV, laid siege to the castle of Lanquais. With five cannons he fires 200 cannonballs on the castle, an attack causes the stop of the works...
In 1591, Henri de La Tour d'Auvergne became Duke of Bouillon and Prince of Sedan following his marriage with Charlotte de La Marck.
In 1594, Henri de La Tour d'Auvergne became Marshal of France.
In 1595 he married Elisabeth de Nassau, daughter of William of Nassau. From this marriage will be born Frederic Maurice, Duke of Bouillon, and the future Marshal of Turenne (1611-1675).
In 1602, Henri de La Tour d'Auvergne took part in the conspiracy set up by Charles de Gontaut, Duke of Biron, with the Duke of Savoy and the Spanish governor of Milan.
After the discovery of this conspiracy, King Henri IV forgave him, unlike the Duke of Biron who was beheaded.
After 1623, the castle is returned to the son of Henri de La Tour d'Auvergne, it will be sold to the Duke of Antin.
In 1643, Cardinal Théodore de La Tour (1643-1715), Grand Chaplain of France and Dean of the Sacred College, was born at the castle.
In 1732, Marie de Mons, widow of Michel de Gourgues, bought the castle of Lanquais from the Duke of Antin.
On 10 Nivôse year IV of the Republic, an inventory of the castle shows that there is practically no furniture left in the castle.
In 1949, at the death of the abbot of Gourgues, the castle returned to his sister, Mrs Foucher de Brandois and her family.
During your visit, you will experience the daily life of the inhabitants of Lanquais from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance, discover their apartments furnished and decorated with sumptuous carved stone fireplaces, old kitchens, armouries, underground passages and a museum on prehistory.
The living rooms, kitchens, bedrooms, cellars and underground passages are open to the public. A puzzle game is offered to families. The current owner, Mme Bertaux de Brandois, does everything possible to safeguard the heritage, and has entrusted the organization to the association Au Fil du Temps.
Many events, medieval festivals, animated evenings, heritage days, ... are organized in high season.
In the summer, night markets and candlelight tours allow you to discover the castle of Lanquais in an unusual atmosphere.
Animations in season, seminars, group welcome with meals....
Castle of Lanquais
Phone : 06 10 79 12 69
Tel: 05 53 61 24 24
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator