Located west of Limoges, Aixe-sur-Vienne is one of the gateway cities of the Périgord-Limousin Regional Natural Park, which seduces by its charm of an ostentatious city, rich in a varied built heritage and offering a wide range of outdoor activities. Fishing and canoeing on the Vienne River, cycling and hiking in the surrounding countryside...
Without forgetting to make a small tour in the communes of Jourgnac, Bosmie-l'Aiguille, Burgnac, Beynac, Saint-Martin-le-Vieux, Séreilhac, Saint-Priest-sous-Aixe and Saint-Yrieix-sous-Aixe.
In Aixe-sur-Vienne, one must first see the Chapelle d'Arliquet, a neo-gothic chapel built in the 19th century in brick, unique in Limousin, which contains a Virgin of Pity and a statue of Saint Claire from the 16th century. In the nave, there are four large shrines containing the relics of martyrs brought back from Rome in 1870 and called "gisants". Contemporary historiated stained-glass windows have replaced the 19th century glass windows.
The Way of the Cross and the park are separated from the square by the river Aurence.
You should also see the Cemetery Chapel, a 13th century funeral chapel, probably of private origin. It shelters a broken door, a paneled vault, an 18th century altarpiece presenting the Crucifixion, Virgin and Child in painted wood.
The Château de Losmonerie was built around 1540 by Jean Chantois, in the spirit of a Renaissance house in the countryside (tower, staircase, gallery, chapel). In the following century, Jean de Lubersac made up the entire courtyard and enriched the interior with numerous pictorial decorations. In the XVIIIth century, officers of the Bureau of Finance of Limoges, the Texandier de Losmonerie, bring the refinement of the XVIIIth century inside (tapestries and furniture classified as Historic Monuments).
To see also a painted decoration of XVIIIth century orangery, the terraced garden overlooking the Vienne river...
After a long period of abandonment, the castle is being restored since 2008.
It now hosts wedding receptions and other events.
The restoration of the garden overlooking the Vienne has also been completed and it is possible to discover it during the visit.
The Holy Cross Church dates from the 13th century. It was built, according to local tradition, at the place where a pilgrim returning from Jerusalem would have rested and carried a fragment of a
It is composed of three naves with three bays, the third bay of the central nave forming the choir, and has a remarkable church treasury composed of 21 reliquaries: statuettes, cross and reliquary arms, ciboriums. It notably includes two magnificent 13th century castles, in champlevé enamel, the casket of Saint André-Hubert Fournet, a priest from Poitou, and the casket of Saint Blaise, which was restored in the 19th century.
The Jardin Jeanne d'Albret, of medieval inspiration, is an exemplary site, a tool for promoting sustainable development with the maintenance of the site according to a "zero pesticide" approach, the use of cultivation techniques that respect man and the environment (mulching, water saving, natural and local materials), and with the preservation of biodiversity through the cultivation of varieties of vegetables and fruit trees that are old, rustic, resistant and adapted to the region. The garden faces the remains of the castle tower, in homage to the medieval past dominating the city.
It is composed of the Hortus (vegetable garden and aromatic plants), the Herbularium (plants with medicinal virtues), the Viridarium (or orchard with varieties of old apple and pear trees) and the Garden of Mary (plants in honor of the Blessed Virgin; flowers dedicated to liturgical feasts and ornamental garden).
Garden of the late Middle Ages because of the materials used: stone, bricks. Largely inspired by the Abbey of Saint Gall (for its definition, symbolism and architecture) but also by the Capitular of Villis made under Charlemagne for the nomenclature of plants represented in this garden.
The Maison de la porcelaine, nestled in the heart of Limousin, invites you to discover and share the passion for porcelain.
The Parc des Roches Bleues offers a walk along the Aixette river towards the canoeing base. At the end of the park, you will discover the early 1900's footbridge and the 13th century arch of the Malassert Bridge (known as the "Roman bridge" but actually from medieval times), crossing the Aixette on the road to Beynac.
A contemporary fresco, realized at the beginning of the 2000s, is to be discovered realized within the framework of the European Heritage Days.
The medieval bridge known as the Malassert Bridge, known as the "Roman Bridge" actually dates from the 14th century, and spans part of the Aixette, of which only one semicircular arch remains.
The Promenade Gilles Clément, landscaped according to the concept of the "Jardin en Mouvement" (Garden in Motion) by the landscape architect Gilles Clément. This practice advocates the conservation of species that have decided on their location.
It is located on the left bank of the Vienne river just after the village of Tarn.
A "night carp" fishing trail is at the beginning of this walk.
The Jeanne d'Albret Tower, remains of the keep of the castle, which bears the name "Jeanne d'Albret", the mother of Henri IV is a fortress built in 1206 on a ford rock, and protected on two sides by the Vienne and Aixette rivers, so the rock can easily be converted into a defense point.
Tourist Office of the Val de Vienne
46, avenue du Président Wilson
Tel: 05 55 70 19 71
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator