Faugères is a hilltop village located in the north-western part of the Hérault, 25 kilometres north of Béziers and north-west of Pézenas.
It is connected to the town of Bédarieux by a tunnel that avoids the Col du Buis, which is 392 metres high.
Faugères is a wine-growing commune famous for its AOC Faugères wine.
Other wines such as AOC Languedoc and IGP Haute-Vallée-de-l'orb, Pays d'Hérault and Pays d'Oc can be produced here.
The Three Mills
The three mills have been restored to their original state, the mills working as before with their sails offered to the 13 winds ...
On the site at an altitude of 417 metres, a breathtaking panorama surprises the visitor: a 360° orientation table carved in stone represents the shore and the sea to the south, then the mountains of the Cevennes in the Pyrenees and to the north the mountains of Lozère and Aveyron.
The grain mills of Faugères date from the 16th century and were restored in the 1990s.
The working mill uses the original millstones from the time of the Rivière brothers, millers on the site between 1829 and 1849.
A tower now serves as a reception area for the Tourist Office in summer.
In the heart of the village and its magnificent wine-growing area, there is a guesthouse whose foundations date back to the 12th century. Restored four centuries later, in 1647, it has retained a very picturesque character.
Built in stone, it houses three charming guest rooms, a patio that is refreshing in the summer, a sunny terrace and a "counter" of local products.
It is called "Les 3 Moulins", a nod to the Three Towers and Moulin de Faugères which will offer you, after a short walk, a magnificent 360° view of the region, between Sète and the Pyrénées Orientales.
38 Droite Street
Tel: 04 67 23 16 65
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator