Inaugurated in 1974 by Prince Rainier III and Princess Grace, the Museum of Old Monaco showcases ancient heritage objects, ceramics, paintings, furniture and costumes, and displays in its rooms the daily life of the Rock in the past.
It was created on the initiative of representatives of the old Monegasque families, the National Committee of Monegasque Traditions, founded in 1924:
- the maintenance of civil and religious traditions,
- the preservation and promotion of the Monegasque language,
- the preservation of the Monegasque heritage.
Civil and religious traditions are maintained. The Monegasque language, although no longer a common language of communication, is taught to young people in the schools of Monaco and can be presented for the baccalaureate diploma. It is also taught to adults so that families can recreate the conditions for a return to its common use.
The Museum is open to visitors free of charge on Wednesdays and Fridays from 11 am to 4 pm from June to the end of September.
Museum of Old Monaco
2, rue Emile de Loth
Tel: 00 377 93 50 57 28
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator