The Chemin de Fer Touristique du Haut-Quercy is an association under the law of 1901.
Created in 1991, its objectives are to safeguard and operate the tourist line from Martel to Saint-Denis-Lès-Martel (46), and to restore railway equipment.
Cut into the Mirandol cliff, 80 m above the Dordogne, this part of the former Bordeaux - Aurillac railway line was built between 1880 and 1884, and put into service in 1889.
Out of service during the 14-18 war, it was rebuilt in 1919 with American rail, still in place today, from Martel to Saint-Denis.
Between the wars, the train was used to ship truffles from the Martel market, one of the most important in France, hence the name "Truffadou".
The line had been unused since 1980, when in 1991 a group of enthusiastic volunteers, keen to preserve this "masterpiece", created an association which, after years of work, reopened the line in 1997.
The Association created SCI Chemin de Fer de Martel, owner of 8 km of line, and operates 6.5 km with equipment it owns.
Since 2014, the first floor of the passenger hall has been home to a museum of antique railway objects. A unique collection donated by José and Nadine Demeurs, supplemented by other donors.
This collection includes uniforms, posters, signals, lanterns, cruets and various tools for track work, two scale models and many unusual objects, bearing witness to the rich history of the railways.
CFTHQ Association
Près la Gare
46600 Martel
Tel.: 5.65.37.35.81
http://trainduhautquercy.info/